Lapshin.org
Indoor
Floriculture


Leafy succulents
Peter Lapshin

'Cultivar' Library
Valery Kalishev

Russian
Succulent Society

Moscow Indoor
Plant Club

Nikita Botanical
Gardens Yalta

Nature of
Southern Crimea
Start page Cultivar: e-magazine about exotic forms of Cactaceae C U L T I V A R
e-Magazine about exotic forms of Cactaceae
ENGLISH / RUS-(Win1251)
  Start  I  Contents  I  Our Book  I  Links  I  Staff  I  For friends  I  Contacts 
 
Project by Valery Kalishev 
ISSUE 1 (17):

Complete articles list
Contents The Book
Сontents of this issue

 
COLORED CACTI
"CACTI AND OTHER XEROPHYLOUS PLANTS", 2000, #3
Innokentiy E. Sinev, Moscow
(Brief version)

    The editor's desk. This year we decided to show our readers, especially beginner cactophyles that many hundreds of beautiful plants can be found among common natural forms of cacti and succulents and they are not inferior to cultivars in beauty. The summary article is presented below. Others are: "Color of spines", "Color of tomentum", "Color of epidermis", "Coloration of flowers". The subject is description of cacti and other succulents. We are inviting all interested people to help to collect information on these topics. Please write us or send articles from other journals on the subject. We are also asking you to share with us the photos on the subject or send Internet links to the photos.
    The photographs were taken by Alexander Usikov, www.cactusomania.ru (Togliatti, Russia), Sergey Kalmykov (Krasnodar, Russia), Oleg Pikalev (Moscow, Russia), Keith and Lorraine Thomas http://home.inreach.com/klcactus (USA), Giovanni Quarella http://www.cactofilia.com (Italy), The photographs of red cacti are from the book of Dmitry Semenov "Cacti and other succulents at home and outside".

Photo 1.
The coloration of cactus is determined by 3 factors such as color of spination, color of tomentum and color of epidermis. The most of cacti has green epidermis and greyish spination. The dominating color is green. This is very natural for a plant but "colored" cacti are not green. As you would expect the number of them is much smaller than common green ones.

White (photo 1-2) cacti are the most numerous. Firstly, one might name white columnar cacti such as Cephalocereus senilis from Mexico, numerous genera of peruvian and bolivian mountain columnar cacti Оrеосеrеus, Espostoa, Pseudoespostoa etc.

Photo 2.
Lofty beauty of these plants is determined by dense white woolly hairs that allow plants not only successfully withstand sizzling rays of equatorial mountain sun but also resist to quick cooling of stem in rarefied air at nighttime. Furthemore the tomentum helps effectively intercept and condense moisture of mountain mists which is partially absorbed by hair-like spines and transported inside of stem but mostly flows down to root space in the soil.

Beautiful tomentum also distinguishes species of Pilosocereus and Austrocephalocereus. Austrocephalocereus dybowskii from equatorial regions of Brazil is the most often found in our collections among other species of Austrocephalocereus.

Photo 3.
In opinion of the foreign cactologists the most popular cactus in all collections in the world is Astrophytum myriostigma, the white cactus from Central and Northern Mexico. All species of Epithelanta are white. Echinomastus macdowellii also has very beautiful white long spines. The spines serves as a good background to striking bright purple-red flowers amazingly breaking out through dense and very long spines.

Apparently genus Mammillaria has the greatest amount of white cacti. М. albicoma, M. bella, M. bocasana. M. candida, M. chinocephala, M. geregia, M. geminispina, M. geminispina v. nobile, M. hahniana, M. herrerae, M. humboldtii, M. lanata, M. lasiacantha, M. lenta, M. parkinsonii, М. рlumosa, M. pseudoperbella are the best known. These species have either very dense white spines or dense white pubescence in axils or both.

Photo 4.
Many species of Parodia also have dense white tomentum but the spines have other color. Pure white species are quite rare. One of them is a popular Р. nivosa forming bright red flowers all summer. Brasilicactus haselbergii produce very beautiful white stem but flowering is more difficult. White species of Rebutia and Aylostera are very popular among beginners, for example, Rebutia senilis and Aylostera muscula.

The color of blue (photo 3-4) cacti is determined by coloration of epidermis which is determined by light conditions no less than the white coloration is.

Photo 5.
One of the most widespread blue cacti is columnar Myrtillocactus geometrizans. It forms thick triquetrous black spines in good conditions. Neochilenia paucicostata has a beautiful light blue stem. Lobivia glauca и Acanthocalycium griseum have darker color of epidermis. Melocacti with blue epidermis are very spectacular. For example, М. orcuttii, M. pachyacanthus, M. ferreophilus, M. douradensis and especially M. azureus. Blue epidermis with purple spots characterize bigger species of mexican Echinocactus. Ferocactus emoryi forms a beautiful blue stem. The new growth of this cactus has different hues of red and purple. The blue cacti with bright yellow spines, for example, Ferocactus glaucescens, Eriocactus magnificus have very striking appearance.

Photo 6.
Yellow (golden) cacti also very beautiful (photos 5-6). The big specimens of Echinocactus grusonii always are the clou of botanical gardens. The nice regular stems of this species are covered by dense golden spines. The Americans call this species "golden barrel". In spite of exactingness grafting is not recommended. The other popular golden cactus is brazilian Eriocactus leninghausii. The golden candles of these cacti profusively cluster from the base and produce yellow flowers in maturity.

Photo 7.
The other golden cactus from Southern Brazil, also related to Notocactus, miniature Brasilicactus graessneri flowers more readily. Winterocereus (Hildewintera) aureispinus from Bolivia have even brighter golden spines and easier in culture. Their stems have tendency to trail so they are very often grown as pendant plant. We know only one golden species of Opuntia which is O.scheeri. One of varieties of O. microdaisis has paler yellow color. This variety doesn't have spines and the pads are densely covered by areoles with colored glochids. We have to say that other varieties of this species also has bright coloration – from white and yellow through different tints of brown to almost red. The most known golden Mammillaria is M. carmenae.

Photo 8.
Echinocereus fitchii, Е. pectinatus, E. castaneus have nice brown (photo 7-8) color. Very beautiful Echinocereus pectinatus var. rigidissimus has different color of growyh in different years: from light pink to dark brown. You can find different shadows of brown in genus Haageocereus.

Brown color of epidermis is typical for "chileans", among them you can find all tints of brown. Coloration of epidermis of "chileans" is phenomenal. Normal green plants can be found rarely among colored ones. Other genera also have brown plants. Chocolate-brown F. castanea and red-brown F. cataphracta from genus Frailea are always popular. Gymnocalycium gibbosum var. nobile has nice purplish brown color.

Photo 9.
There are very few red (photo 9)cacti. That explains huge popularity of bright red japanese "Hibotan"-like cultivars without chlorophyll.

In bright light you can see brownish red (photo 10-11) epidermis color of G. mihanovichii v. friedrichii from genus Gymnocalycium. Neochilenia odieri has very similar coloration. Red spines determine color of both species of Denmosa, short columnar cacti from Argentina. Ferocactus acanthodes F. coloratus, F. graclis, F. stainesii. have even brighter red spines.

Photo 10.
Cacti with black, purple and purplish black (photo 12-13) epidermis are typical mainly for South America. For example, Neochilenia atra, Horridocactus geisseyi, H.crispus, Gymnocalycium gibbosum var. nigrum etc.

Finally we have to notice that colored cacti become more bright ant colorful only in good light conditions. So sometimes it'd be better to sacrifice quick growth and move cacti from hot but shaded greenhouse outside. Growth of the cacti will sharply slow down but color will be ideal. It will also work for other succulents.

Literature:
1. Backeberg С. - Das Kakteenlexicon. Jena, 1976.
2. Backeberg С. - Wunderwelt Kakteen. Jena, 1966.

Photo 11.

Photo 12.

Photo 13.

 

Cultivar e-magazin: Copyright (c) by Valery Kalishev, Chelyabinsk, Russia, since 2000.
Design and hosting by Peter Lapshin, since 2002. Contacts: Peter Lapshin

Lapshin.org
Комнатное
цветоводство

Листовые
суккуленты

Заказ растений
почтой по России

Секция
кактусистов

Путешествия
Ботанические сады

Экзотические
кактусы (статьи)

Комнатные
растения

Об Эписциях
(Геснериевые)
Start page Cultivar: e-magazine about exotic forms of Cactaceae Проект Валерия Калишева
журнал любителей кактусных аномалий
ENGLISH / Рус-Win1251
 Начало  I  Оглавление  I  Книга  I  Клубы  I  Ссылки  I  Редакция  I  Друзьям сайта  I  Контакты 
 
НОМЕР 1 (17):

Оглавление статей
Оглавление Книги
Оглавление выпуска


Рейтинг@Mail.ru

 
ЦВЕТНЫЕ КАКТУСЫ
журнал КАКТУСЫ И ДРУГИЕ СУХОЛЮБИВЫЕ РАСТЕНИЯ 2000 №3
Иннокентий Е. Синев, Москва
(Дано в сокращении)

    От редакции. В текущем году мы решили показать читателям, (начинающим кактусоводам), что и среди обычных природных форм кактусов и других суккулентов имеются многие сотни прекраснейших не уступающих по красоте культиварам. Одна из статей, обобщающая, перед вами. Темы остальных: "Цвет колючек", "Цвет опушения", "Цвет эпидермиса", "Окраска цветка"; К подготовке материала по перечисленным темам мы приглашаем всех желающих, особенно англоязычных читателей. Напишите нам или вышлите опубликованные в журналах статьи по данной тематике. Одновременно просим высылать нам фото по каждой из тем или дать ссылки на фото, имеющиеся в сети Интернет.
    Фотографии подбирали: Александр Усиков, www.cactusomania.ru (г. Тольятти-), Сергей Калмыков (г. Краснодар), Олег Пикалев, (г. Москва), Keith and Lorraine Thomas http://home.inreach.com/klcactus (USA), Giovanni Quarella http://www.cactofilia.com (Italy), красные кактусы взяты из книги Дмитрия Семенова "Кактусы и другие суккуленты в доме и саду".

Photo 1.
Цвет кактуса определяется тремя факторами: цветом колючек, цветом опушения и цветом эпидермиса. Большинство кактусов имеет зеленый эпидермис и серых оттенков колючки. В их окраске преобладает зеленый цвет. Это очень естественно для растения, но "цветные" кактусы - не зеленые. Вполне естественно, что их много меньше, чем обычных.

Наиболее многочисленными являются белые (фото 1-2) кактусы. Из них можно в первую очередь назвать белые цереусы, такие как Cephalocereus senilis из Мексики, многочисленные виды перуанских и боливийских горных цереусов Оrеосегеus, Espostoa, Pseudoespostoa и другие.

Photo 2.
Величественная красота этих растений обусловлена в первую очередь густым белым опушением, которое позволяет этим растениям не только успешно противостоять испепеляющим лучам горного экваториального солнца, но также препятствует быстрому выхолаживанию стеблей в условиях разреженного воздуха в ночное время. Кроме того, опушение позволяет эффективно перехватывать и конденсировать влагу горных туманов, которая частично поглощается волосками опушения и транспортируется внутрь стебля, а основная часть стекает по стволу в корнеобитаемое пространство почвы под растениями.

Красивым опушением отличаются также пилозоцереусы и аустроцефалоцереусы.

Photo 3.
Среди последних чаще других в наших коллекциях встречается Austrocephalocereus dybowskii из экваториальных районов Бразилии. По мнению зарубежных кактологов, самым распространенным кактусом всех коллекций мира является Astrophytum myriostigma - белый кактус из Центральной и Северной Мексики. Белыми являются все эпителанты. Очень красивые длинные белые колючки имеет Echinomastus macdowellii. На фоне этих колючек великолепно выглядят поразительно яркие фиолетово-красные цветки, непонятно каким образом пробивающиеся сквозь очень густые и очень длинные колючки наружу.

По-видимому, самое большое количество белых кактусов в роде Mammillaria. Самыми известными являются М. albicoma, M. bella, M. bocasana. M. candida, M. chinocephala, M. geregia, M. geminispina, M. geminispina v. nobile, M. hahniana, M. herrerae, M. humboldtii, M. lanata, M. lasiacantha, M. lenta, M. parkinsonii, М. рlumosa, M. pseudoperbella.

Photo 4.
Также многие пародии образуют густое белое опушение, но их колючки окрашены иначе. Чисто-белых пародий, таким образом, немного, Одной из них является популярная Р. nivosa, образующая яркие красные цветы в течение всего лета, Очень красивый белый стебель образует Brasilicactus haselbergii, однако цветет он менее охотно. Очень популярны, особенно среди начинающих кактусоводов, белые ребуции, например Rebutia senilis, и айлостеры, например, Aylostera muscula.

Photo 5.
Цвет голубых (фото 3-4) кактусов определяется окраской эпидермиса, красивый светло-голубой стебель имеет Neochilenia paucicostata. Более тёмный голубой цвет эпидермиса у Lobivia glauca и Acanthocalycium griseum. Очень красивы мелокактусы с голубым эпидермисом. Назовём для примера М. orcuttii, M. pachyacanthus, M. ferreophilus, M. douradensis и особенно M. azureus. Голубой эпидермис с фиолетовыми пятнами характерен для крупных мексиканских эхинокактусов. Красивый голубой стебель образует Ferocactus emoryi. Свежий прирост эпидермиса у него имеет различные оттенки красного и фиолетового цветов. Очень эффектно выглядят голубые кактусы с ярко-желтыми колючками, например, Ferocactus glaucescens, Eriocaactus magnificus.

Photo 6.
Не менее красивы желтые (золотые) кактусы (фото 5-6). Наибольший интерес у посетителей ботанических садов вызывают крупные экземпляры Echinocactus grusonii. Красивые пропорциональные стебли этого вида покрыты густыми светло-желтыми, "золотыми" колючками. Американцы называют этот кактус "золотым бочонком". Несмотря на требовательность, прививать его не принято. Менее капризен другой популярный "золотой" кактус из Ю. Бразилии – Eriocactus leninghausii. Обильно кустящиеся от основания золотые столбики этого кактуса цветут лишь в старшем возрасте желтыми цветами.

Photo 7.
Значительно быстрее начинает цвести другой "золотой" кактус из Южной Бразилии, также родственный нотокактусам, миниатюрный Brasilicactus graessneri. Пожалуй, ещё более яркие золотые колючки имеет сравнительно легкий в культуре Winterocereus (Hildewintera) aureispinus из Боливии. Его стебли склонны к полеганию, поэтому часто его выращивают в качестве ампельного растения. Среди опунций нам известен лишь один "золотой" вид - Opuntia scheeri. Менее яркий желтый цвет имеют побеги одного из варитетов О. microdasys. Эта опунция не образует колючек, но ареолы с цветными глохидиями очень густо покрывают членики этого миниатюрного кактуса. Следует отметить, что другие разновидности этой опунции также окрашены очень ярко - от белого и желтого через различные оттенки коричневого до почти красного цвета. Из "золотых" маммиллярий наиболее известна, по-видимому, М. carmenae.

Photo 8.
Красивую коричневую (фото 7-8) окраску имеют эхиноцереусы E. fitchii, Е. pectinatus, E. castaneus. Очень красив Echinocereus pectinatus var. rigidissimus, у которого приросты разных лет имеют разные оттенки - от светло-красного до тёмно-коричневого. Различные оттенки коричневого цвета можно встретить у хаагеоцереусов.

Коричневый цвет эпидермиса характерен в первую очередь для "чилийцев", среди которых можно встретить все оттенки этого цвета. Вообще "чилийцы" - это феномен среди кактусов по окраске эпидермиса. Нормальные зеленые растения встречается среди них реже, чем цветные. Есть коричневые растения и среди других групп кактусов, например, среди фрайлей. Всегда популярны шоколадно-коричневая F. castanea, красновато-коричневая F. cataphracta. Красивый фиолетово-коричневый цвет эпидермиса имеет Gymnocalycium gibbosum var. nobile.

Photo 9.
Красных (фото 9) кактусов в целом немного. Именно поэтому были и остаются популярными ярко-красные бесхлорофилльные (более правильно цветные культивары или бесхлорофилловые, ред. "CULTIVAR") японские культивары типа 'Hibotan'.

При хорошем освещении коричневато-красный (фото 10-11) цвет эпидермиса имеют гимнокалициумы, G. mihanovichii v. friedrichii. Примерно такую же окраску имеет Neochilenia odieri. Красные колючки определяют окраску обоих видов денмоз - короткостолбчатых цереусов из Аргентины. Еще более яркие красные колючки у ферокактусов: F. acanthodes F. coloratus, F. gracllis, (вероятно описка - gracilis) F. stainesii.

Photo 10.
Кактусы с чёрным, фиолетовым и фиолетово-чёрным (фото 12-13) эпидермисом характерны преимущественно для Южной Америки. Например, Neochilenia atra, Horridocactus geisseyi, H.crispus, Gymnocalycium gihbosum var. nigrumn и др.

В заключение необходимо отметить, что цветные кактусы получаются наиболее красочными и пестрыми лишь при хороших условиях освещения. Поэтому в отношении цветных кактусов иногда целесообразно пренебречь быстрым ростом и выставить кактусы из жаркого, но затененного парника на открытый воздух. Рост кактуса резко замедлится, но цвет будет идеальным. То же самое касается и других суккулентов.

Литература:
1. Backeberg С. - Das Kakteenlexicon. Jena, 1976.
2. Backeberg С. - Wunderwelt Kakteen. Jena, 1966.

Photo 11.

Photo 12.

Photo 13.

 

Cultivar e-magazin: Copyright (c) by Valery Kalishev, Chelyabinsk, Russia, since 2000.
Design and hosting by Peter Lapshin, since 2002. Contacts: Peter Lapshin

  Рейтинг@Mail.ru