Lapshin.org
Indoor
Floriculture


Leafy succulents
by Peter Lapshin

Cacti Library
'Cultivar' (V.Kalishev)

Moscow
Succulent Society

Moscow Indoor
Plant Club

Travels, nature,
botanical gardens

About Episcia
(Gesneriaceae)
Start page Cultivar: e-magazine about exotic forms of Cactaceae C U L T I V A R
e-Magazine about exotic forms of Cactaceae
ENGLISH / RUS-(Win1251)
  Start  I  Contents  I  Our Book  I  Links  I  Staff  I  For friends  I  Contacts 
 
Project by Valery Kalishev 
ISSUE 2 (39):

Complete articles list
Contents The Book
Сontents of this issue


Рейтинг@Mail.ru

 
Ms. Kristata from Czechia

Translation into English by Nella Goloviznina,
Sevastopol, Ukraine

The remarkable photo of Lophophora williamsii (crested form) is placed in one of the issues of Czech magazine "Kaktusy" for 2001 on one of the last pages. It is a Yan Klikar's photo which he has made several years ago in a cacti' collection of one amateur from the Western Europe.

And half year before that a photo another crested cactus - Ariocarpus retusus -had been published on a cover of the same magazine.

Undoubtedly, these photos please eyes of collectors of these special and rare plants. And what impression it could make in an "alive" kind. In fact, the length of a crest of crested Ariocarpus was 120 centimeters! Fairly this cactus received an informal title of Ms. Kristata 2000. Existence of the photo of crested Lophophora suggested an idea, that it can become tradition to choose the most effective crested plant.

Each amateur knows, that such plants appear because the point of growth suddenly turns to a line. Instead of growing in height, the plant grows at length. This phenomenon is unstable, and crested cactus again can start to develop as a usual plant.

It is possible to propagate crested cacti only in the vegetative way. However, it does not prevent appearance crested cacti in shops. Some amateurs specialize only on these abnormal forms of plants, adding to them colored forms. Therefore, some people say that the monograph devoted only to crested forms is prepared for the publication in Czech Republic.

It is absolutely unclear why crested forms appear. It can be a solar burn, mechanical damage, a radioactive irradiation, a heredity. However it is noticed, that in some places in the nature crested appear more often. For example, A. retusus, showed here occurs from La Ascension (Mexico). It is one of pilgrimage places for cacti anomalies' amateurs. It is quite possible to meet crested forms of Epithelantha micromeris near Saltillo and crsted Lophophora williamsii at small town Parras de la Fuente. Ariocarpus shown here was pictured at Matehuala. Libor Kunte and Pavel Pavlichek said that among thousands "normal" Ariocarpuses crested forms can be counted on fingers of the hand.

©SZ2002

 

Cultivar e-magazin: Copyright (c) by Valery Kalishev, Chelyabinsk, Russia, since 2000.
Design and hosting by Peter Lapshin, since 2002. Contacts: Peter Lapshin

  Рейтинг@Mail.ru

Lapshin.org
Комнатное
цветоводство

Листовые
суккуленты

Заказ растений
почтой по России

Секция
кактусистов

Путешествия
Ботанические сады

Экзотические
кактусы (статьи)

Комнатные
растения

Об Эписциях
(Геснериевые)
Start page Cultivar: e-magazine about exotic forms of Cactaceae Проект Валерия Калишева
журнал любителей кактусных аномалий
ENGLISH / Рус-Win1251
 Начало  I  Оглавление  I  Книга  I  Клубы  I  Ссылки  I  Редакция  I  Друзьям сайта  I  Контакты 
 
НОМЕР 2 (39):

Оглавление статей
Оглавление Книги
Оглавление выпуска


Рейтинг@Mail.ru

 
Мисс Kristata Чехии

В одном из номеров чешского журнала Kaktusy за 2001 год на одной из последних страниц помещена замечательная фотография кристатной формы Lophophora williamsii . Это фото из собрания Яна Кликара, которое он сделал несколько лет назад в коллекции кактусов одного любителя из Западной Европы. А за полгода до этого на обложке этого же журнала было опубликовано фото другой кристаты - Ariocarpus retusus .

Несомненно, эти фотографии порадуют глаз коллекционера этих особенных и относительно редких растений. А что уж говорить о впечатлении, которое эти кактусы производят в "живом" виде. Ведь длина гребня кристатного ариокарпуса равнялась 120 сантиметрам! Справедливо этот кактус получил неофициальный титул Мисс Кристата 2000. Появление фотографии с кристатной лофофорой навело на мысль, что это может стать традицией: почему бы ежегодно не выбирать самое эффектное кристатное растение?

Каждый любитель знает, что такие растения происходят от того, что по каким-либо причинам точка роста вдруг превращается в линию. Вместо того чтобы расти в высоту, растение растет "в длину". Явление это неустойчивое, и кристата вновь может начать развиваться как обычное растение.

Размножить кристату можно только вегетативным способом. Это, впрочем, не мешает все более частому появлению кристат в магазинах. Некоторые любители специализируются только на этих аномальных формах растений, прибавив к ним бесхлорофильные цветные формы. В связи с этим ходят слухи, что и в Чехии готовится к публикации монография, посвященная только им.

Пока еще не совсем ясно, что является причиной появления кристат. Это может быть солнечный ожог, механическое повреждение, радиоактивное облучение, наследственность. Однако замечено, что в некоторых местах в природе кристаты появляются чаще. Например, A. retusus , изображенный здесь, происходить из области La Ascension (Мексика). Это одно из мест паломничества любителей кактусных аномалий. В окрестностях Saltillo нередко можно встретить кристатные формы Epithelantha micromeris , а у городка Parras de la Fuente встречаются кристаты Lophophora williamsii . Ариокарпус, изображенный здесь, был сфотографирован у Matehuala. Либор Кунте и Павел Павличек вспоминали, что среди тысяч "нормальных" ариокарпусов кристаты можно было пересчитать на пальцах одной руки.

©SZ2002

 

Cultivar e-magazin: Copyright (c) by Valery Kalishev, Chelyabinsk, Russia, since 2000.
Design and hosting by Peter Lapshin, since 2002. Contacts: Peter Lapshin

  Рейтинг@Mail.ru