Lapshin.org
Indoor
Floriculture


Leafy succulents
by Peter Lapshin

Cacti Library
'Cultivar' (V.Kalishev)

Moscow
Succulent Society

Moscow Indoor
Plant Club

Travels, nature,
botanical gardens

About Episcia
(Gesneriaceae)
Start page Cultivar: e-magazine about exotic forms of Cactaceae C U L T I V A R
e-Magazine about exotic forms of Cactaceae
ENGLISH / RUS-(Win1251)
  Start  I  Contents  I  Our Book  I  Links  I  Staff  I  For friends  I  Contacts 
 
Project by Valery Kalishev 
ISSUE 4 (5):

Complete articles list
Contents The Book
Сontents of this issue


Рейтинг@Mail.ru

 
COLORED CRESTS

    Everyone knows there are crested forms of cacti both in nature and in collections. But few people know that crests can be colored. We placed several here. I hope we will enlarge this list with the help of our readers.

BLACK BALL
By Yu. Zhurov, Vladivostok, Russia

Photo 1.

I got this plant 3 years ago from V.M. Serovaiskiy, Moscow, as Gymnocalycium mihanovichii f. blackbotan, the so-called .black ball.. I still do not quite understand what is .black ball.. Is it a colored form with specific pigment or an ordinary form of rich dark color. I heard different opinions. The plant grows slowly. I got only one normal (round) offset from it and another like this (photo 1). It is hard to say yet if it is a crest or dichotomy. I would go for dichotomy though I am not absolutely sure. The .groove. between .the heads. seems to be getting wavy. You might see it in the photo. What if it is a crest? It is very attracting!

MANY-SIDED CHAMAECEREUS
By Yu. Zhurov, Vladovostok, Russia

Photo 2.

Chamaecereus silvestrii f.aurea f. сristata (photo 2), appeared in Vladivostok approximately in 1994. According to the owner the plant was brought to her as a present from Singapore. I should mention some peculiarities of grafter. Grafting is easy. It looks like the grafter sticks to the stock. They accrete in 1-2 days. In about 7-10 days the grafter starts growing. Among good stocks there are Hylocereus, Selenicereus, Cereus and others. In my opinion stocks are not critical to the grafter. But I made no experiments to find out what is the best stock. Chamaecereus silvestrii f.aurea f. cristata, like ordinary Chamaecereus is subject to tick attacks. So one should check grafts and treat them with special stuff for preventive purposes.

Photo 3.

Crest forming depends a lot of the conditions in which the graft exists. The grafter can start forming a crest or something like dented cup, or grow flowing and so on. On the other hand if the stocks are almost the same and the grafts are in the similar conditions (at the same window-sill) then the grafts develop in a similar way. The graft is very stable and amazingly more long-lived than Gymnocalycium colored forms. The plant brought in 1994 is still alive. In the climax of activity (usually in summer) in the area of new growth sort of yellow pistils sized 5-7 mm can appear. No other elements of flowers were found. The problem of yellow pistils is to be solved in the future.

Photo 4.

Sometimes in certain conditions grafts form crested offsets. They look like normal Chamaecereus silvestrii f.aurea (photo 3). But later the upper part of the offset begins to extend and turns into a crest. I did not do special researches but found that this process starts when the feeding is not enough : poor soil, bad watering and so on. One can keep the stock in a small pot. When the plant starts .starving. the graft will form .fingers..

ONE OF THE FIRST
By Yu. Filippov, Moscow

Photo 5.

Gymnocalycium michanovichii f.rubra f.cristata (photo 4) appeared in Y.A.Shinkarenko.s collection (Moscow) more than 20 years ago. It was brought from N.Karchevskiy, Baltic region. Several times it nearly died until it was grafted into Myrtillocactus. Now the plant has about 12 cm crest. It grows very slowly. It never bloomed.

HUMPBACK LITTLE HORSE
By N.Shemorakov

Photo 6.

A red crested seedling of Turbinicarpus lophophoroides has lived on own roots for three years in my collection (photo 5). Its shape reminded of a character of the popular Russian fairy tale . humpback little horse. It was 2 cm high in the .withers. and about the same size long.

In summer 2000 its root collar got rotten . it was contaminated. I had to take emergency measures . to engraft it. Out of four grafts only 2 survived: the .withers. and the .tail.

Photo 7.

Cutting the plant for grafting I mentioned that only upper (subepidermal) layers of cells were red. Then the color changed to dark green and light green in the middle of the crest. It was a kind of false colored form. Can you imagine this?

One of the two grafts left, the .withers. grafted into a short Cereus grew very fast and got green. By November 2000 only a brownish shade in the middle of the crest reminded of the red coloring (photo 6). The other graft grows well and did not change its coloring (photo 7).

 

Cultivar e-magazin: Copyright (c) by Valery Kalishev, Chelyabinsk, Russia, since 2000.
Design and hosting by Peter Lapshin, since 2002. Contacts: Peter Lapshin

  Рейтинг@Mail.ru

Lapshin.org
Комнатное
цветоводство

Листовые
суккуленты

Заказ растений
почтой по России

Секция
кактусистов

Путешествия
Ботанические сады

Экзотические
кактусы (статьи)

Комнатные
растения

Об Эписциях
(Геснериевые)
Start page Cultivar: e-magazine about exotic forms of Cactaceae Проект Валерия Калишева
журнал любителей кактусных аномалий
ENGLISH / Рус-Win1251
 Начало  I  Оглавление  I  Книга  I  Клубы  I  Ссылки  I  Редакция  I  Друзьям сайта  I  Контакты 
 
НОМЕР 4 (5):

Оглавление статей
Оглавление Книги
Оглавление выпуска


Рейтинг@Mail.ru

 
ЦВЕТНЫЕ КРИСТАТЫ

    О наличии кристатных форм кактусов как в природе, так и у любителей, знают все. А вот то, что эти необычные гребешки могут иметь еще и цветную форму, знают немногие. Здесь помещено только несколько из них. Надеюсь, что с помощью читателей журнала мы расширим данный список.

ЧЕРНЫЙ ШАР
Ю. Журов, Владивосток

Photo 1.

Это растение я получил года 3 назад от В.М. Серовайского (Москва) как Gymnocalycium mihanovichii f. blackbotan, в общем - так называемый 'черный шар'. Хотя для меня до сих пор не совсем ясно, что такое этот 'черный шар'. То ли это такая цветная форма с характерным пигментом, то ли это обычная форма с насыщенным темным цветом. Мнения я слышал разные от разных специалистов. Растет это растение медленно. С него удалось снять один отросток нормальный (круглый) и один вот такой (фото 1). Пока трудно определить, то ли это кристата, то ли дихотомия. Я склоняюсь в сторону дихотомии, хотя не поручусь полностью. Вроде бы 'канавка' между 'головами' начинает волниться, это даже чуть видно на снимке. А вдруг кристата? Было бы очень заманчиво!

МНОГОЛИКИЙ CHAMAECEREUS
Ю. Журов, Владивосток

Photo 2.

Растение Chamaecereus silvestrii f.aurea f. сristata (фото 2), появилось во Владивостоке примерно в 1994 году. По словам владельца, растение было привезено ей в подарок из Сингапура. Следует отметить некоторые особенности привоя. Прививка удается без труда, создается ощущение, что привой сам 'присасывается' к подвою. Срастание обычно происходит за 1-2 дня. Примерно через 7-10 дней, привой активизируется и начинает расти. В качестве подвоя хороши Hylocereus, Selenicereus, Cereus и т.д. По нашим наблюдениям к подвою привой не критичен. Однако специальных экспериментов по выбору наилучшего подвоя мы не проводили.

Photo 3.

Chamaecereus silvestrii f.aurea f. cristata, как и обычный Chamaecereus, легко поражается клещиком, поэтому надо постоянно контролировать прививки на предмет наличия паразита и проводить профилактические обработки. Формирование гребешка происходит в большой зависимости от условий, в которых находится прививка: может начать формироваться привой в виде гребня или в виде ниспадающих натеков, либо что-то подобное отколотой чашке и т.п. С другой стороны, если подвои примерно одинаковы и прививки находятся в одинаковых условиях (на одном подоконнике), то в формировании привоев явно наблюдаются общие черты.

Привой весьма устойчив, на удивление долговечней цветных форм гимнокалициумов. Это подтверждает тот факт, что еще здравствует 'оригинал', привезенный в 1994г.

Photo 4.

В пик активности (обычно летом) в районе свежего прироста могут появляться образования, напоминающие небольшие желтые пестики (размером 5-7 мм). Однако другие элементы цветка нам не удавалось обнаружить. Проблема 'желтых пестиков' еще ждет своего разрешения.

Иногда при некоторых внешних условиях на привое появляются раскристатившиеся побеги. Внешне они напоминают 'обычный' Chamaecereus silvestrii f.aurea (фото 3). Однако через некоторое время верхняя часть побега начинает растягиваться и превращается в гребешок. Мы не проводили специальные исследования, но заметили, что раскристачивание начинается как бы при недостатке питания: бедная почва, слабый полив, и т.п. Можно, допустим, подвой держать в маленькой посадочной емкости, и как начнется 'голодовка', у привоя вскоре появятся 'пальцы'.

ОДИН ИЗ ПЕРВЫХ
Ю. Филиппов, Москва

Photo 5.

Растение Gymnocalycium michanovichii f.rubra f.cristata (фото 4) появилось в коллекции Ю.А. Шинкаренко (Москва) более 20 лет назад. Привезена из Прибалтики от Н. Карчевского. Несколько раз была на грани гибели, пока не привил на Myrtillocactus. Сейчас кристата имеет гребень длиной примерно 12см. Растет очень медленно. Ни разу не цвела.

КОНЕК ГОРБУНОК
Н. Шемораков

Photo 6.

Три года рос у меня на своих корнях кристатный сеянец Turbinicarpus lophophoroides красного цвета (фото 5). По форме он напоминал известного сказочного персонажа по имени _конек-горбунок_. Имел высоту _в холке_ чуть более 2 см и примерно столько же в длину.

Летом 2000 г. у него подгнила корневая шейка: заразился _горбунок_ фитофторой. Пришлось срочно принимать радикальные меры - прививку. Из четырех выполненных прививок выжили лишь две: _холка_ и _хвост_.

Photo 7.

Делая срезы во время прививок, я обратил внимание на то, что лишь верхние (субэпидермальные) слои клеток были красного цвета. В дальнейшем окраска менялась, переходя в темно-зеленый, а в самом центре гребня в бледно-зеленый цвет. Этакая ложно-цветная форма. Кто бы мог подумать, что такое возможно?

Одна из двух оставшихся прививок - _холка_, привитая на низкий Cereus, росла очень буйно и : зеленела день ото дня. К ноябрю 2000 г. от былой красноты остался лишь легкий коричневатый оттенок в середине гребня (фото 6). Вторая прививка растет благополучно и окраску не изменила (фото 7).

 

Cultivar e-magazin: Copyright (c) by Valery Kalishev, Chelyabinsk, Russia, since 2000.
Design and hosting by Peter Lapshin, since 2002. Contacts: Peter Lapshin

  Рейтинг@Mail.ru