Lapshin.org
Indoor
Floriculture


Leafy succulents
Peter Lapshin

'Cultivar' Library
Valery Kalishev

Russian
Succulent Society

Moscow Indoor
Plant Club

Nikita Botanical
Gardens Yalta

Nature of
Southern Crimea
Start page Cultivar: e-magazine about exotic forms of Cactaceae C U L T I V A R
e-Magazine about exotic forms of Cactaceae
ENGLISH / RUS-(Win1251)
  Start  I  Contents  I  Our Book  I  Links  I  Staff  I  For friends  I  Contacts 
 
Project by Valery Kalishev 
ISSUE 6 (28):

Complete articles list
Contents The Book
Сontents of this issue

 
Astrophytum asterias 'SUPER KABUTO' и 'MIRAKURU KABUTO'
Mysteries, legends and some cultural experiences

from magazine «Cactus & Co» #4, 2000
Text & photos by Zeno Giusti

MYSTERIES AND LEGENDS

Astrophytum asterias, as it is well known, is a spineless cactus, with a perfectly geometric form resembling that of the sea-urchin. The stem is globose, quite flattened and reaches a diameter of 10 cm and a height of 8 cm. It usually has eight flat ribs, separated by shallow furrows. The areoles are conspicuous, white, 3-4 mm wide, usually woolly. The colour of the plant is grayish-green, and the epidermis is covered by white dots arranged sometimes along lines, sometimes according to more irregular patterns. The flowers are about 5 cm wide and 3 cm long, yellow with a reddish throat. The fruit is green, initially spherical, but it elongates on ripening, becomes soft and detaches just above the base when pulled lightly. The seeds (with a very large hilum) are smooth, shaped like a cap, from black to brown in colour. The unique forms known as 'Super Kabuto' and 'Mirakuru Kabuto' are distinguished from the normal Astrophytum asterias by the epidermis, that does not have simple dots, but a mosaic of extensive white spots that make the plant look intensely maculate. In Japan there are many and beautiful forms of 'Super Kabuto', which differ for the diverse pattern of these spots. It would be difficult to mention them all: they range from completely white forms ('white-type'), to forms with woolly spots ('snow-type'), to forms with a maculation like the shape of fly's wings ('zebra-type').

Photo 1. A specimen of 'Super Kabuto zebra-type', grafted on Myrtillocactus geometrizans. Notice the white patterns in the shape of fly's wings.

The first specimens of Astrophytum asterias were collected by the baron W. von Karwinsky in the spring of 1843 in Tamaulipas, Mexico. Sent to Munich in Bavaria and described by Zuccarini in 1845, they died soon without leaving descendants. Very few were found between 1910 and 1920. In 1922 Britton and Rose, in the classic treatise "The Cactaceae" had to use, as an illustration, the photograph of one of the dried plants kept in Munich. Only after 1920 did the Haage nursery import some specimens to Europe, and from thereon diffusion among collectors began.

The story of the forms called 'Super Kabuto' and 'Mirakuru Kabuto' is hazier, though more recent: the information on the origins and cultivation of these plants is indeed scarce, sometimes discordant and absolutely non exhaustive. To make things worse, the little information available is often in Japanese, a language that for sure many people ignore. All this results in the fact that these plants are shrouded in mystery and legend.

Photo 2. Above: a grafted 'Super Kabuto'. Right: again A. asterias 'Super Kabuto zebra-type', with the dried remains of a flower.

What is the true origin of these particular Astrophytum? Do they all come from a natural hybrid? And still, what is the difference between 'Super Kabuto' and 'Mirakuru Kabuto'?

According to Tony Sato, the 'Mirakuru Kabuto' (the name, given by Sato himself, in Japanese means 'miracle' of Astrophytum asterias) would come from a mutation that occurred in nature to Astrophytum asterias. These mutated plants were imported to Japan by Mr. Masaomi Takeo in 1980. The first hybridization attempts with normal Astrophytum asterias produced a first generation that did not show the same characters of 'Mirakuru Kabuto'.

Photo 3 a, b, c. A rather strange specimen of A. asterias grafted on Pereskiopsis velutina, and two specimens of A. asterias var. nudum grafted on Myrtillocactus geometrizans.

Clive Innes and Charles Glass (in their 'encyclopaedia', 1991) almost wholly confirm these facts, stating that Astrophytum asterias 'Mirakuru Kabuto' is "an extraordinary variant known from just one individual field-collected plant and sold at a high price in Japan. Propagations have been made possible by cross-pollinating with the typical form or by grafting. The title is Japanese for 'miracle plant'2.

This is the only information I have obtained on the origin of the 'Mirakuru Kabuto', and from which several questions arise. How did Mr. Masaomi Takeo successively manage to obtain plants with the characters of 'Mirakuru Kabuto'? And if he had success, in what proportion did these characters show in the descendants? And why is it that today the 'Super Kabuto' are mentioned more than the 'Mirakuru Kabuto'?

As regards the origin of the 'Super Kabuto' the information is even scantier!

Tony Sato states that the 'Mirakuru Kabuto' is distinguishable from the 'Super Kabuto'. The dots of the latter would be raised, while those of the former would not. To make it clearer, this difference could be similar to the better known one between Astrophytum coahuilense (with "woolly" and "raised" dots) and Astrophytum myriostigma (with flat dots on the plant's epidermis). Furthermore, the 'Mirakuru Kabuto' could grow up to 19 cm in height, while the 'Super Kabuto' would be smaller.

Photo 4 a, b. A variegated A. asterias grafted on Myrtillocactus geometrizans, and a variegated A. asterias var. nudum.

'Super Kabuto' is supposed to be a specimen of a mutated form of Astrophytum asterias found in 1981 by the same Mr. Masaomi Takeo in an American garden centre. But where does this plant come from? Is there a relation between 'Mirakuru Kabuto' and 'Super Kabuto'?

According to Mr. Yowichirow Matsuoka - an expert Japanese collector of Astrophytum - the 'Mirakuru Kabuto' and 'Super Kabuto' would have been imported from Mexico to Japan in 1979. Therefore they should be different mutations of Astrophytum asterias both generated in nature3.

Photo 5 a, b. Two A. asterias grafted on the same specimen of Pereskiopsis velutina, and a hybrid of 'Super Kabuto'.

Still according to Yowichirow Matsuoka, crossing a 'Super Kabuto' with an Astrophytum asterias intensely covered with white dots, the percentage of first generation plants with 'Super Kabuto' characters is about 50%4. These percentages seem to have been confirmed by other Japanese collectors5.

Instead it seems to be much more difficult to obtain the characters of the 'Mirakuru Kabuto' form from crosses with normal Astrophytum asterias. This may explain why today we hear a lot about 'Super Kabuto' and little about 'Mirakuru Kabuto'.

Photo 6 a, b. A 'Super Kabuto zebra-type' grafted on Myrtillocactus geometrizans and a cristate 'Super Kabuto' grafted on Pereskiopsis velutina.

NOTES

1 'Kabuto' is the Japanese name of Astrophytum asterias.
2 According to Aikichi Kobayashi (see references) the photograph in the Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Cacti should be a 'Super Kabuto' and not a 'Mirakuru Kabuto'.
3 According to some Japanese cactus experts, the site where the mutations were found is Calles, in Mexico.
4 Yowichirow Matsuoka found percentages even higher than 50%.
5 Contrary to these data, according to Robert Maijer and K. Sakai - Japanese nurseryman - the percentage of plants with 'Super Kabuto' characters obtained from crossing with a normal A. asterias is only about 30% in the first generation (F1).

To be continued

From the editors: about 'Super Kabuto' - see also Issue 3 (13):
Is Astrophytum 'Super Kabuto' - ASCAP? by Igor Skoulkin,
Abnormal forms of Astrophytum, or questions without answers by Nikolay Shemorakov,
Cacti and succulents in Japan. Part 3 - Some cultivars of Astrophytum asterias and Astrophytum myriostigma by Aikichi Kobayashi,
The 'Kabuto' Astrophytum sorts by Kouhei Mizukami,
Sowing of 'Super Kabuto' and 'Onzuka' V. Zlotin, A. Vozian.

 

Cultivar e-magazin: Copyright (c) by Valery Kalishev, Chelyabinsk, Russia, since 2000.
Design and hosting by Peter Lapshin, since 2002. Contacts: Peter Lapshin

Lapshin.org
Комнатное
цветоводство

Листовые
суккуленты

Заказ растений
почтой по России

Секция
кактусистов

Путешествия
Ботанические сады

Экзотические
кактусы (статьи)

Комнатные
растения

Об Эписциях
(Геснериевые)
Start page Cultivar: e-magazine about exotic forms of Cactaceae Проект Валерия Калишева
журнал любителей кактусных аномалий
ENGLISH / Рус-Win1251
 Начало  I  Оглавление  I  Книга  I  Клубы  I  Ссылки  I  Редакция  I  Друзьям сайта  I  Контакты 
 
НОМЕР 6 (28):

Оглавление статей
Оглавление Книги
Оглавление выпуска


Рейтинг@Mail.ru

 
Astrophytum asterias 'SUPER KABUTO' и 'MIRAKURU KABUTO'
Загадки, легенды и опыт выращивания

из журнала «Cactus & Co» № 4, 2000 г
Текст и фото: Зено Гиусти (Zeno Giusti)
Перевод с английского Юрия Юдина

ЗАГАДКИ И ЛЕГЕНДЫ

Astrophytum asterias, как хорошо известно, - это кактус, лишенный колючек и обладающий совершенной геометрической формой, напоминающей морского ежа. Стебель - шарообразный, довольно приплюснутый, достигает диаметра 10 см и высоты 8 см. Он обычно имеет восемь плоских ребер, разделенных неглубокими бороздками. Ареолы хорошо различимы, белые, 3-4 мм шириной, обычно покрыты шерстью. Цвет растения серовато-зеленый, эпидермис покрыт белыми точками, расположенными иногда в виде линий, а иногда более хаотично. Цветы примерно 5 см шириной и 3 см длиной, желтые с красноватым зевом. Плод зеленого цвета, изначально сферический, но при созревании он удлиняется, становится мягким и при легком потягивании отделяется прямо над основанием. Семена (с очень большой бороздкой) гладкие, чашеобразные, от черного до коричневого цвета. Необычные формы, известные как 'Super Kabuto' и 'Mirakuru Kabuto', отличаются от обычного Astrophytum asterias эпидермисом, который не просто покрыт обычными точками, а имеет мозаику из больших белых пятен, которые почти полностью покрывают растение. В Японии существует много прекрасных форм 'Super Kabuto', которые отличаются рисунком этих пятен. Все перечислить просто невозможно: диапазон простирается от полностью белых форм ("белая форма") до форм с пятнами, покрытыми шерстью ("снежная форма") и форм с рисунками в виде крыльев мухи (форма "зебра").

Фото 1. Экземпляр 'Super Kabuto' форма "зебра", привитый на Myrtillocactus geometrizans. Обратите внимание на белые узоры в форме крыльев мухи.

Первые экземпляры Astrophytum asterias были собраны бароном Карвинским весной 1843 года в мексиканском штате Тамаулипас. Отправленные в баварский город Мюнхен и описанные Цуккарини в 1845, они быстро погибли, не оставив потомства. Совсем немного растений было найдено в период с 1910 по 1920 годы. В 1922 Бриттону и Роузу в их классическом трактате "Семейство Кактусовых" в качестве иллюстрации даже пришлось использовать фотографию одного из засушенных растений, хранящегося в Мюнхене. Только после 1920 года кактусная фирма Хааге импортировала несколько экземпляров в Европу, и с этого момента началось распространение растения среди коллекционеров.

История форм 'Super Kabuto' и 'Mirakuru Kabuto' еще более туманна, хотя и более современна: информация о происхождении и выращивании этих растений скудна, иногда противоречива и абсолютно неполна. Хуже того, та немногая информация, которая имеется, часто опубликована на японском языке, которым многие люди просто пренебрегают. Все это привело к тому, что эти растения покрыты завесой тайн и легенд.

Фото 2. Вверху: привитый 'Super Kabuto'. Справа: еще один A. asterias 'Super Kabuto' форма "зебра" с засохшими остатками цветка.

Каково настоящее происхождение этих форм рода Astrophytum? Образовались ли они от естественного гибрида? И, наконец, в чем различие между 'Super Kabuto' и 'Mirakuru Kabuto'?

Как пишет Тони Сато, 'Mirakuru Kabuto' (имя, данное самим Сато, на японском означает "чудесный" Astrophytum asterias) могло образоваться от природного мутанта Astrophytum asterias. Эти растения-мутанты были привезены в Японию г-ном Масаоми Такео в 1980 году. В результате первых попыток гибридизации с нормальным Astrophytum asterias получилось первое поколение растений, которое не имело отличительных характеристик 'Mirakuru Kabuto'.

Фото 3 а, б, в. Довольно странный экземпляр A. asterias, привитый на Pereskiopsis velutina, и два растения A. asterias var. nudum, привитые на Myrtillocactus geometrizans.

Клайв Иннес (Clive Innes) и Чарльз Гласс (Charles Glass) (в их "Энциклопедии" 1991 года) почти полностью подтверждают эти факты, говоря, что Astrophytum asterias 'Mirakuru Kabuto' — это "необычный вариант, известный только по одному растению, собранному в природе и проданному по высокой цене в Японии. Размножение стало возможным благодаря перекрестному опылению с обычной формой или путем прививки. Название по-японски означает "чудо-растение"2.

Эта единственная информация, которую мне удалось получить по поводу происхождения 'Mirakuru Kabuto', дает ответ на некоторые вопросы. Как г-ну Масаоми Такео удалось, наконец, получить растения с характеристиками 'Mirakuru Kabuto'? И если ему это удалось, в какой степени эти признаки проявляются в потомстве? И почему на сегодняшний день 'Super Kabuto' известны шире, чем 'Mirakuru Kabuto'?

Что же касается происхождения 'Super Kabuto', то эта информация еще более скудна!

Предполагается, что 'Super Kabuto' - это мутированная форма Astrophytum asterias, найденная тем же г-ном Масаоми Такео в американском питомнике. Но где именно? И есть ли какое-то родство между 'Mirakuru Kabuto' и 'Super Kabuto'?

Фото 4 а, б. Цветная форма A. asterias, привитая на Myrtillocactus geometrizans, и цветная форма A. asterias var. nudum.

Как пишет Йовичироу Мацуока (Yowichirow Matsuoka), признанный японский эксперт в области коллекционирования астрофитумов, 'Mirakuru Kabuto' и 'Super Kabuto' могли быть импортированы из Мексики в Японию еще в 1979 году. Таким образом, они должны быть двумя разными мутациями Astrophytum asterias, обе из которых образовались в природе3.

Тони Сато утверждает, что 'Mirakuru Kabuto' отличаются от 'Super Kabuto'. На 'Super Kabuto' точки приподнятые, а на 'Mirakuru Kabuto' - нет. Чтобы было понятнее, это различие подобно тому, как Astrophytum coahuilense (с шерстистыми и приподнятыми точками) отличается от Astrophytum myriostigma (с плоскими точками на эпидермисе). Более того, 'Mirakuru Kabuto' может вырасти до 19 см в высоту, в то время как 'Super Kabuto' меньше по размеру.

Фото 5 а, б. Два A. asterias, привитые на один и тот же экземпляр Pereskiopsis velutina и гибрид 'Super Kabuto'.

Также, согласно Йовичироу Мацуока, при скрещивании 'Super Kabuto' с Astrophytum asterias, обильно покрытым белыми точками, в первом поколении доля растений с признаками 'Super Kabuto' составляет около 50%4. Это процентное отношение, похоже, подтверждается и другими японскими коллекционерами5.

В то же время, получить растения с характеристиками 'Mirakuru Kabuto' путем скрещивания с обычным Astrophytum asterias, еще гораздо сложнее. Этим, возможно, объясняется тот факт, что сегодня мы слышим очень много о 'Super Kabuto' и совсем немного о 'Mirakuru Kabuto'.

Фото 6 а, б. 'Super Kabuto' форма "зебра", привитый на Myrtillocactus geometrizans, и кристатный 'Super Kabuto', привитый на Pereskiopsis velutina.

ПРИМЕЧАНИЯ


1 'Kabuto' - японское название Astrophytum asterias.
2 Согласно Айкичи Кобаяши (Aikichi Kobayashi) (см. список литературы), растение на фотографии в "Иллюстрированной Энциклопедии Кактусов" является на самом деле 'Super Kabuto', а не 'Mirakuru Kabuto'.
3 Согласно некоторым японским специалистам по кактусам, растения-мутанты были найдены в местечке Калльес (Calles) в Мексике.
4 Йовичироу Мацуока получил результаты даже выше 50%.
5 В противоречие этим данным, согласно владельцам японских питомников Роберту Майджеру (Robert Maijer) и К. Сакай (K. Sakai), доля растений с признаками 'Super Kabuto', полученных путем скрещивания с обычным A. asterias, составляет только около 30% в первом поколении (F1).

Продолжение в следующем номере

От редакции: о 'Super Kabuto' см. также CULTIVAR №3 (13) - август 2002 года
Astrophytum 'Super Kabuto' - ASCAP? И. М. Скулкин,
Аномальные формы Astrophytum, или вопросы без ответов Николай Шемораков,
Кактусы и суккуленты в Японии. Часть 3 - Некоторые культивары Astrophytum asterias и Astrophytum myriostigma Айкичи Кобаяши,
Сорта астрофитумов 'Kabuto' Кухи Мизуками,
Посев 'Super Kabuto' и 'Onzuka' В. Злотин, А.Возиян.

 

Cultivar e-magazin: Copyright (c) by Valery Kalishev, Chelyabinsk, Russia, since 2000.
Design and hosting by Peter Lapshin, since 2002. Contacts: Peter Lapshin

  Рейтинг@Mail.ru